The Board of Trustees shall consist of nine members, appointed by Direct-Aid, of whom the Rector, African Muslim Agency (AMA) Somali office Director and three other Somali experts shall be members provided that the Rector will be an ex officio member. The tenure of the Board of Trustees shall be a 5 year renewable period.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for setting the general policy of the University; oversee the overall activities of the University according to its adopted educational policy, supervise and periodically evaluate the performance of the University, promote the relationship between the University and other educational Institutions. In addition, the will approve the formation, amalgamation and cancellation of departments and centers.

The Board of Trustees has the power to appoint the Rector of the University, approve the annual budget of the University and prepare and plan fundraising campaigns.